Support Staff

Our paraprofessionals at Discovery are an integral part of our SPED program. They go above and beyond every day to ensure the success of our students with IEPs.

Yvonne Ackmann
yackmann@isd4081.org

I have worked for Discovery Public School for 10 years. I assist students in understanding lessons, working individually or in small groups. I also work to meet individual education goals. I graduated from South Central with a degree in Childhood Development with Paraprofessional emphasis. I will assist students to express themselves for who they are, as well as embrace the difference of others. I will also assist each child in developing their own potential and learning styles. I enjoy working with kids and helping them learn and grow. 

Sonia Flores
sflores@isd4081.org

I have been working at Discovery Public School since 2012. I’m a Spanish Liaison & Special Education Bilingual Paraprofessional. I provide interpreting services in Spanish/English for parents, teachers, and administrators during parent/teacher conferences, and any other type of activity where Spanish/English communication is required by school personnel. I assist the teachers in daily classroom activities, help care for the physical and emotional health and safety of special needs students, affirming their abilities, and striving to promote dignity in all relationships. I assist students in understanding lessons, working individually and in small groups, and  work with students to meet IEP goals.

I graduated  from McAllen, Texas and moved to Minnesota in 1999 as a Migrant Worker. I received my Parapro Test Certificate in 2016. I love and enjoy working with kids and helping them learn and advocate for themselves. In my spare time I love to watch my kids play soccer and listen to music. 

Madison VanErp
mvanerp@isd4081.org

I graduated from Discovery in 2016. I’ve worked as a para at Discovery for 2 years. I help teachers in the classroom and I work with the kids in groups and individually to meet their IEP goals and succeed academically. I love to learn about each students individual personality. 


I’m 23 with 2 kids of my own. We love to go fishing, swimming, and on walks.