Frequently Asked Questions

1.  Enhanced Academic Performance

The Discovery Public School of Faribault continues to offer a service to a number of students in the Faribault area.  Many students are behind academically or have not been successful in a traditional classroom setting.  The Discovery Public School of Faribault offers these students a safe place to learn and fosters growth into continuing education and the workforce.


2.  Increased School Attendance

The Discovery Public School of Faribault will make calls to the home for any student that is absent without prior notification.  The school also makes the same telephone call to notify members of social services and corrections should they be involved with that student’s life.


3.  Parents are more actively involved in schools

The Discovery Public School of Faribault is able to build better relations with parents through daily communications including planner pages, telephone calls, conferences, etc.


4.  Increased levels of technical and educational skills

The Discovery Public School of Faribault offers classes that focus on computer skills, resume building, filling out applications, the interviewing process, etc.  Our school has fifteen computers to offer for classroom activities. 

As a result of moving, the school board and staff have had to look for different avenues to achieve the goals of the school.  The additional expense of moving has made it almost impossible to provide the students with what they have been experiencing in the past.  Support for the school has been coming from a number of sources throughout the community.  We are very appreciative of all that we have received, but it is our hope to restore the school to the fullest potential and provide a quality education for those students that need it the most.  As a school, we are looking for additional funding for the following areas.  Any help that we receive will allow the school to function for this school year and continue into the future.  Without support, the future of the school is based upon drastic cuts to program and facilities.  We cannot continue to operate without the support of local agencies.  As all of the changes have taken place with our school over the past year, the one constant has been that the school is focused on caring for the children.  The needs, health, and safety, of the children are the focal points of the Discovery Public School of Faribault’s educational philosophy.
Please feel free to contact the school with any questions or concerns!  We would like to thank you for celebrating our Grand Opening with us, and we would also like to extend an open invitation to come back and visit our school again. 

How big is your school? How big will it get?
The school has a goal of 10 employees 75 students. The school currently has 8 teachers and 51 students.
Who is your staff?
Karen Natole - Office Manager - Karen works with staff, students and parents. - Email: discovery@isd4081.org

Jim Severson - Executive Director and ex-officio school board member - Email: jseverson@isd4081.org

Sam Macklay – Middle School Science/ Physical Science/ Environmental Science/ Biology and Chemistry Teacher – I am impressed with the dedicated staff at Discovery Public School, and the partnership with parents and community that makes this school work.  I appreciate our small class sizes and I truly enjoy working with young people.   I sponsor the Discovery Sports Club which is open to all students at the school.  Sports Club members meet on Tuesdays (after school) for open gym or for an activity out in the community such as archery, swimming, bowling, hiking or canoeing.  Learning goes on for your whole life and I strive to help my students improve themselves through education and self-discipline. Email:smacklay@isd4081.org.

Dan Weisser - Social Studies Teacher & Assistant Director and school board member - Email: dweisser@isd4081.org

Alex Lecy - English and Social Studies Teacher - Email: alecy@isd4081.org

Cody Hanson - Physical Education/Health/Art Teacher - Email: chanson@isd4081.org

Dirk Wells - Special Education Teacher and school board member - Email: dwells@isd4081.org

Heather O'Leary - Special Education Teacher - Email: holeary@isd4081.org

Sharon Hansen - Math Teacher - Email: shansen@isd4081.org

Yvonne Ackmann - Paraprofessional - Email: yackmann@isd4081.org

Sonia Flores- Paraprofessonal - Email: sflores@isd4081.org